

OVERVIEW and **IMPACT**

Inaugurated in 1997, the Wisconsin Writers Wall of Fame pays tribute to a spectrum of literary talents, including novelists, poets, journalist, playwrights, and historians, whose works have been influenced by their lives and experiences in Wisconsin. Members of the Nomination Committee will play a vital role in nominating prospective inductees and working collaboratively within the committee to screen all nominations and chose one or more inductees for 2020.

RESPONSIBILITIES

- Establish meeting schedule and timeline for completion of selection process.
- Solicit nominations
- Research and identify authors for consideration for induction to the Wall.
- Screen and review all nominees based on a variety of criteria, including but not limited to body of work, contribution to the literary world, and peer recognition, and the nature of their connection to Wisconsin.
- Work collaboratively with fellow committee members to select 2020 Inductee(s).
- Attend and actively participate in preferably all, but no less than two and up to four meetings, whether in-person or by conference call between April and June 2020.

QUALIFICATIONS

- Knowledge of or experience in the publishing and/or book industry.
- Professorship, scholarship, or expertise in literature and/or Wisconsin history.
- Ability to maintain strict confidentiality throughout the entire search and selection process.

TERM

The duration of time for research, nomination, selection, and induction of the 2020 Wisconsin Writers Wall of Fame Inductee is approximately six months (April - September 2020).

REPORTS TO

Joan Johnson, Deputy Director and Selection Committee Chair

APPOINTMENT and SELECTION PROCESS

Individuals interested in serving on the Selection Committee should send a Letter of Interest and Resume/C.V. which communicates the candidate's knowledge, experience, or expertise in literature and/or Wisconsin history to <u>MPLVolunteer@milwaukee.gov</u> no later than May 1, 2020. Committee members will be appointed by the Selection Committee Chair.